Overview

  1. Sessions' default visibility
  2. Changing permissions for sessions
  3. Use case: Objectives accessible to a limited group of users
  4. Use case: Session visible to everyone, updatable by specific users

According to best practices, OKRs should be transparent to the whole organization, as transparency is one of the key pillars of OKR benefits.

However, there are always exceptions where you would like to limit the visibility of specific OKRs. It might be because of sensitive information or project specifics where non-disclosure is required.

For such cases, Gtmhub allows you to set custom permissions for your OKR sessions.

Sessions' default visibility

By default planning sessions are visible to the whole organization and each team member can create/update/delete objectives as long as they belong to a role with these particular rights.

Changing permissions for sessions

If you do not define permissions, by default the whole account will have access to this session.

If you wish to change the default behavior for a planning session, e.g. make it private to a certain group of people or change who gets to read, update, delete, create OKRs and modify permissions within that session, you can easily do so. 

Use case: Objectives accessible to a limited group of users

In this case, you want to limit the access to objectives to certain individuals or a group of people that belong to a role in Gtmhub. Currently, all users have access to the created planning sessions but you want to grant permissions only to a few people for one of the sessions or a few teams or roles.

Here's how to do that:

  1. Go to OKRs > Manage sessions;
  2. Click on the Settings button next to the session's name (or create a new session);
  3. Go to the Permissions section and choose Custom from the drop-down menu;
  4. Click the  + Select from list button;
  5. Select the employees, teams, or roles which need to have access to the session;
  6. Save the session.

ℹ️ "Account" gives you the ability to select all users in the account, no matter their teams and roles.

Use case: Session visible to everyone, updatable by specific users

In this use case, we need the whole organization to be able to see our objectives' progress. However, only specific users will be able to read, update, delete, create OKRs, and modify permissions within the session. 

Similar to the above use case, we can first select the users that will be doing the updates and then select everyone in the account:

  1. Go to OKRs > Manage sessions;
  2. Click on the Settings button next to the session's name (or create a new session);
  3. Go to the Permissions section and choose Custom from the drop-down menu;
  4. Select which users that will be granted the specific permissions for the session;
  5. + Select from list button > Account > Account > Apply;
  6. Save the session.

ℹ️ When setting session permissions, at least one person should be granted full permissions. That means this user will be able to modify permissions later on. If you forget to, Gtmhub will kindly remind you to do so.

ℹ️ If you wish users to be able to see all OKRs but only be able to update their own OKRs, then you need to assign those users only the "Read" permission. The "Read" permission will allow them to update OKRs that are assigned to them or the team they belong to.

ℹ️ If you use the above suggestion have in mind that in cases where the objectives are assigned to the team but the key results are assigned to individuals, every member of the team will be able to update all key results belonging to this objective, as the permissions are applied on an objective level.

🏠 go back to Table of Contents

Related articles

Sessions

How to edit a session

Did this answer your question?