Overview

You can change the default behavior of a planning session. For example, make it private to a certain group of people or change who gets to read, update, delete, create OKRs, and modify permissions within that session.

BEST PRACTICE: According to the best practices, OKRs should be transparent to the whole organization, because transparency is one of the key pillars of OKR benefits.

Sometimes there is a necessity to the limit the visibility of specific OKRs. It may be because of sensitive information or project specifics where non-disclosure is required.

For such cases, Gtmhub allows you to set custom permissions for your OKR sessions.


Default visibility of sessions

By default, planning sessions are visible to the whole organization and each team member can create, update, and delete objectives.


Change session permissions

If you do not define permissions, by default the whole account will have access to this session.

Perform the following

  1. In the navigation pane, under OKRs, click All sessions.

  2. Click on the ellipsis next to the session you want to modify the permissions for and then choose Edit.

  3. In the Permissions dropdown box, select Custom.

  4. By default you as a user, everyone in the account and everyone in the admin role will be given permissions. (Note: for everyone in the account "Modify permissions" are not preselected)

  5. To change the actual permissions of each selected user, team or role click on the key icon and make your selection.

  6. To remove all permissions from someone click on the bin icon.

  7. In the search bar you can search for any user, team or role you want to give permissions to. Once selected in the dropdown list, the same options for modifying their permissions or removing their permissions are available.

  8. When giving permissions to a team by default you give permissions to all subteams of that team. To change that, click on "Include subteams" and deselect the choice.

  9. Another way to give permissions instead of using the search bar is by clicking + Select from list . Click the Employees, Teams, Roles, or Account tab. (If you select Account, you are giving permissions to all users in the current account, regardless of their teams or roles.)

  10. Select who will have permissions for this session.
    For example, you can select two employees and one team.
    Your selection appears under the Permissions dropdown box.

    NOTE: When setting session permissions, you must grant at least one person full permissions, including to Modify permissions permission. If only one person is left with such permissions, you will not be able to remove them unless you give someone else these permissions first.

    NOTE: If you want users to be able to see all OKRs but only be able to update their own OKRs, then you can grant these users only the Read permission. This will allow them to update OKRs that are assigned to them or the team they belong to.

  11. Save the session.

NOTE: If the objectives are assigned to the team, but the key results are assigned to individuals, every member of the team will be able to update all key results belonging to this objective, because permissions are applied on an objective level.


Example

You want to create a session that is visible to everyone, but objectives can be modified by a specific user.

In this case, whole organization will be able to see the objectives. However, only a specific user will be able to create, update, and delete OKRs.

Perform the following:

  1. In the Permission dropdown box, click + Select from list.

  2. Click the Account tab.

  3. Click the account and click Apply.

  4. Expand the selector of Everyone in this account.

  5. Select Read and deselect Update, Delete, Create, and Modify permissions checkboxes.

  6. Click + Select from list again.

  7. Click the Employees tab.

  8. Select the user that will be able to create, update, and delete OKRs.

  9. Click Apply.

  10. Expand the selector of the user.

  11. Select Read, Update, Delete, Create, and Modify permissions checkboxes.

  12. Click Save session.

Did this answer your question?