As per the best practices, OKRs should be transparent to the whole organization. Transparency is one of the key pillars of OKR benefits. 

However, there're always exceptions where you'd like to limit the visibility of specific OKRs. It might be because of sensitive information or project specifics where non-disclosure is required. 

For such cases, Gtmhub allows you to set custom permissions for your OKR cadence.

Planning sessions default visibility

By default planning sessions are visible to the whole organization and each team member can create/update/delete objectives as long as they belong to a role with these particular rights.

Changing permissions for planning sessions

If you don't define permissions, by default the whole account will have an access to this session.

If you wish to change the default behavior for a planning session, e.g. make it private to a certain group of people or change who gets to read, update, delete, create OKRs and modify permissions within that session, you can easily do so. 

Use case: Objectives accessible to a limited group of users

In this case, you want to limit the access to objectives to certain individuals or a group of people that belong to a role in Gtmhub. Currently, all users have access to the created planning sessions but you want to grant permissions only to a few people for one of the sessions, let's say OKRs champions only. 

Here's how to do that:

  1. Go to OKRS > Manage sessions
  2. Create a session
  3. Go to the Permissions section and choose Custom from the drop-down menu
  4. Click the  + select from list button
  5. Roles > OKRs Champion > Apply
  6. Create session

Pro-tip:

Every user who's taking the OKRs Champion role will be granted associated permissions. You can customize many new roles depending on the needs and the preferences of your organization. 

Use case: Planning session visible to everyone, updatable by specific users

In this use case, we need the whole organisation to be able to see our objectives progress. However, only specific users will be able to read, update, delete, create OKRs and modify permissions within the session. 

Similar as above, we can first select the users that will be doing the updates and then select everyone in the account:

  1. Go to OKRS > Manage sessions
  2. Create a session
  3. Go to the Permissions section and choose Custom from the drop-down menu
  4. Select which users that will be granted the specific permissions for the session
  5.   + select from list button > Account > Account > Apply
  6.  Create Session

Pro-tip:

When setting permissions for the incoming planning session, at least one person should be granted full permissions. That means this user will be able to modify permissions later on. If you forget to, Gtmhub will kindly remind you to do so.

Pro-tip:

Remember that you must be an account administrator and/or have a specific pre-defined role in your account to be able to access the "Manage Sessions" screen and customize permissions for the session.

Did this answer your question?