Overview

The OKR State provides a quick and easy way to mark the work on a given Objective as done - either Achieved or Abandoned.

Work might stop on an OKR for different reasons: the Key Results might have been reached early, or maybe the company decided to pivot and realign resources based on new information obtained during the OKR cadence period.

Types of OKR States

Active

This is the default state of all Objectives. When created, all OKRs are in an Active state and will remain so unless the user changes it.

Achieved

After work on a given OKR has been completed (the goal was reached) the user can mark it as Achieved.

Key Result updates will still be possible, however, the owners will not receive email notifications to do so and the Key Results will not appear in the Home To-Do section.

Abandoned

If an OKR is no longer on focus for various reasons but the user doesn't want to delete it from the system, its state can be changed to Abandoned.

Key Result updates won't be possible and the owners will not receive email notifications to do so and the Key Results will not appear in the Home To-Do section.

Changing the OKR States

All changes to the OKR state are done manually by the users allowing them to increase visibility and transparency in their organization.

Changing the state from the Home page

On the Home page, the user can find all OKRs they or their team(s) own.

To change the OKR state, click on the button in the "OKR State" column and select the status you'd like to transition to:

Changing the state from the Objective form

The OKR state is displayed in the top left corner of every Objective form. If the user has permissions they'll be able to change the status by clicking on the arrow of the button.

Steps for changing the OKR state

  1. Click on the OKR state button

  2. From the drop-down menu select the new OKR state

    1. If the Objective is Achieved you can enter an optional comment providing more context. The comment will then appear in the "Comments" section of the OKR

    2. If the Objective is Abandoned you must state a reason for abandoning the OKR.

  3. Once you're done, click on "Close OKR" to save your changes

Any changes to OKR state are visible in the OKR History of each Objective

Permissions

Gtmhub Admins can change the OKR state of all OKRs.

Objectives owned by individuals

OKR states can be changed by the owner(s) of the Objective.

Objectives owned by teams

OKR state can be changed by all team members

Did this answer your question?