Overview

Gtmhub uses role-based access control to determine the level of access for all users. It comes with a set of predefined system roles, but you can also create your own custom roles to suit your requirements.

System roles

System roles are predefined and they cannot be deleted. By default, Gtmhub comes with the following set of system roles:

  • Admin
    The Admin role has access to view and manage all parts of Gtmhub account. This includes inviting users, creating and managing roles, teams, integrations, etc.
  • Data
    The Data role can access and manage Insightboards, insights, data, setup, and data sources.
  • User
    The User role has a limited set of permissions - it can view and manage objectives and insight boards and view the People module.
  • Hcm
    The Human Capital Management (HCM) role has the same permission level as the User role, but, in addition, it can manage the People module.
  • Restricted
    The Restricted role has view-only access to OKRs and People module. Actions that can be performed are limited to creating personal filters, managing tasks, provide and request feedback, as well as the ability to use the comments field across the system.

The following screenshot displays the the predefined roles on the Manage roles page:

NOTE: By default, each new user invited to a Gtmhub account is assigned to the User role.

Create custom roles

If you want to provide specific access to users – for example, to ensure they can only view Objectives, but cannot manage or update them, you can create a custom role and assign it the required set of permissions.

For more information, see Create roles.

Assign roles to the users

You can assign roles to users either individually or in bulk.

To assign a role to a user, perform the following:

  1. In the bottom of the navigation pane, click Settings.
  2. Click the Users tab.
  3. Click the user whose roles you want to change.
  4. In the list of roles, select the roles that you want to assign to the user.
    The roles are assigned immediately.
  5. Navigate back to the Users tab.

To set a role for a group of users, perform the following:

  1. In the bottom of the navigation pane, click Settings.
  2. Click the Users tab.
  3. In the toolbar, click Bulk select.
  4. Select the users whose roles you want to change.
  5. Click Change role.
  6. Select the roles and click Apply roles.

Filter users by role

Perform the following:

  1. In the bottom of the navigation pane, click Settings.
  2. Click the Users tab.
  3. In the toolbar, click Filter.
  4. To filter by one or more roles, click them.
  5. Click Apply selection.
  6. To clear the filter, perform the same procedure, but deselect the roles.
Did this answer your question?