Roles

Gtmhub uses role-based access control to determine the different level of user permissions. There are 3 default roles that are build in each Gtmhub account - Admin, Data, Hcm (Human Capital Management), and User

The Admin role has access to view and manage all parts of Gtmhub account which includes inviting users, creating and managing roles, teams, integrations, etc. 

Users assigned the Data role can access Insightboards and manage Insightboards, Insights, Data, Setup, and Data Sources.

The User role has a more limited set of permissions - it can view and manage objectives and insight boards and view the People module. 

The Hcm has the same permission level as the User one but some additional options are added so this role can also manage the People module.

By default each new user invited to a Gtmhub account will be assigned to the User role. 

Pro-tip:

Build-in roles cannot be deleted.

Create custom roles

If you need to provide more limited access to users, for example, to ensure they can only view Objectives but not manage or update them, you can create a custom role and provide it the necessary set of permissions. 

Here's how to do that:

  1. Go to Settings > Users > Manage Roles
  2. Click the Add new role button
  3. Type in the Role name > Save
  4. Set permissions to this role 
  5. Save

Assign roles to the users

You can assign roles to users either individually or in bulk. 

To set a role for a user:

  1. Go to Settings > Users 
  2. Pick a user and click on the name
  3. Choose the User role you want this user to take

To set a role for a group of users:

  1. Go to Settings > Users > Bulk Select
  2. Select Users
  3. Change Role > choose roles 
  4. Apply roles

Pro-tip:

To create a new role, you must be an account administrator. 

Permissions

Gtmhub exposes the following permission sets:

  • Access Insightboards
    Whether the users in this role can access and preview Insightboards
  • Manage Data
    Whether the users can create, edit or delete data
  • Access Goals
    Whether the users in the role can browse Goals
  • Access Private Goals
    Whether the users in the role can browse private goals
  • Manage Goals
    Whether the users in the role can create, edit (assign, change) Goals
  • Access Setup
    Whether the users in the role can access (browse) the configuration settings under Setup tab
  • Manage Setup
    Whether the users in the role can manage (edit, create, delete) Insights, Entities, Data Sources
  • Manage Users
    Whether the users in the role can manage (edit permissions, delete, invite) other user profiles
  • Manage Configuration
    Whether the users can manage users, roles and general configurations
  • Manage Planning Sessions
    Whether the users in the role can create, edit or delete Planning Sessions
  • Access People
    Whether the user in the role can access (browse) people module
  • Manage People
    Whether the user in the role can manage teams, their managers and hirarchy in the people module
  • Manage Billing
    Whether the user in the role can manage billing settings for the whole account
  • Manage API Tokens
    Allows viewing, creation and revocation of API tokens on the behalf of the interacting user. Only administrators can manage tokens for all users
  • Manage Badges
    Allows viewing, creation and removing of badges
  • Post Announcements
    Allows posting announcements
  • Manage Users Invitations
    Whether the user in the role can send user invitations
  • Manage Announcements
    Whether the user in the role can create, edit and modify announcements
  • Access Conversations
    Whether the user in the role can access conversations
  • Manage Conversations
    Whether the user in the role can create, edit and modify conversations
  • Access Feedback
    Whether the user in the role can view feedback
  • Manage Feedback Topics
    Whether the user in the role can manage and post public topics
  • Create Feedback topics
    Whether the user in the role can create topics
Did this answer your question?